Open Agenda



Cabinet

Tuesday 13 December 2016 4.00 pm Ground Floor Meeting Room GO2A, 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

Supplemental Agenda No. 2

List of Contents

Item No.

Title

Page No.

7. Deputation Requests1 - 5To consider any deputation requests.

Contact

Paula Thornton 020 7525 4395 or email: <u>paula.thornton@southwark.gov.uk</u> Webpage: <u>www.southwark.gov.uk</u>

Date: 9 December 2016

Item No. 7.	Classification: Open	Date: 13 December 2016	Meeting Name: Cabinet	
Report title:		Deputation Requests	Deputation Requests	
Ward(s) or groups affected:		All		
From:		Proper Constitutional Officer		

1

RECOMMENDATION

1. That cabinet considers whether or not to hear a deputation from Housing Action Lambeth and Southwark in respect of the application of the housing allocations policy as set out in paragraph 4 of this report.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

- 2. When considering whether to hear the deputation request, cabinet can decide
 - To receive the deputation at this meeting or a future meeting; or
 - That the deputation not be received; or
 - To refer the deputation to the most appropriate committee/sub-committee.
- 3. A deputation shall consist of no more than six people, including its spokesperson. Only one member of the deputation shall be allowed to address the meeting for no longer than five minutes. After this time cabinet members may ask questions of the deputation for up to five minutes. At the conclusion of the questions, the deputation will be shown to the public area where they may listen to the remainder of the open section of the meeting.

KEY ISSUES FOR CONSIDERATION

Housing Action Lambeth and Southwark

4. A deputation request has been received from Housing Action Lambeth and Southwark in respect of the application of the housing allocation policy in respect of residents living in overcrowded accommodation.

Community impact statement

5. The Southwark Constitution allows for deputations to be made by groups of people resident or working in the borough.

REASONS FOR URGENCY

6. The deputation requests were received in line with the constitutional deadline for the receipt of deputation requests and are therefore eligible for consideration by cabinet as to whether or not to hear the deputations at this meeting.

REASONS FOR LATENESS

7. The deadline for the receipt of deputation requests was midnight 7 December 2016, after the main cabinet agenda despatch on 5 December 2016. It has therefore not been possible to send out this report five clear days in advance of the meeting.

BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS

Background Papers	Held At	Contact				
Cabinet procedure rule 2.11 on deputations:	160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH	Paula Thornton 020 7525 4395				
Link: Cabinet procedure rule 2.12 (deputations) http://moderngov.southwark.gov.uk/documents/s63344/Cabinet%20procedure%20rules_July%202015.pdf						

APPENDICES

No.	Title
None	

AUDIT TRAIL

Lead Officer	Everton Roberts, Principle Constitutional Officer				
Report Author	Paula Thornton, Constitutional Officer				
Version	Final				
Dated	8 December 2016				
Key Decision?	No				
CONSULTATION WITH OTHER OFFICERS / DIRECTORATES / CABINET					
MEMBER					
Officer Title		Comments Sought	Comments Included		
Director of Law and Democracy		No	No		
Strategic Director of Finance		No	No		
and Governance					
Cabinet Member		No	No		
Date final report s	ent to Constitution	al Team	8 December 2016		

CABINET AGENDA DISTRIBUTION LIST (OPEN)

MUNICIPAL YEAR 2016/17

NOTE: Original held by Constitutional Team; all amendments/queries to Paula Thornton/Virginia Wynn-Jones Tel: 020 7525 4395/7055

NameNo of copiesCabinet Members1Peter John OBE1Stephanie Cryan1Barrie Hargrove1Richard Livingstone1	Name Chief Officer Team Eleanor Kelly Deborah Collins Gerri Scott	No of copies
Peter John OBE1Stephanie Cryan1Barrie Hargrove1	Eleanor Kelly Deborah Collins	1
Stephanie Cryan1Barrie Hargrove1	Deborah Collins	1
Stephanie Cryan1Barrie Hargrove1	Deborah Collins	
Barrie Hargrove 1		1
		1
	Duncan Whitfield	1
Victoria Mills 1	David Quirke-Thornton	1
Johnson Situ 1		
lan Wingfield 1	Officers	
Mark Williams 1	Officers	
	Doreen Forrester-Brown	1
Other Coursellers		
Other Councillors	Jennifer Seeley	1
	Norman Coombe	1
Gavin Edwards 1	Jin Lim	1
Jasmine Ali 1		
Paul Fleming 1		
Tom Flynn 1	Others	
Eleanor Kerslake 1		
Maria Linforth-Hall 1	Louise Neilan, Press Office	1
Rebecca Lury 1	Paula Thornton, Constitutional Officer	8
Kieron Williams 1		
Rosie Shimell 1		
Michael Mitchell 1	Total:	40
Electronic Versions (no hard copy)	Dated: 16 May 2016	
Fiona Colley		
Anood Al-Samerai		
Maisie Anderson		
Michael Situ		
Group Offices		
Chris Page, Cabinet Office 1		
Niko Baar, Opposition Group Office 1		
Press		
Southwark News 1		
South London Press 1		